Nov. 14, 2012

The day after my 23rd birthday I decide to start a blog.

 
Dinner tonight was Pinspired by a few dishes I spotted on Pinterest.  The menu consisted of Chicken with Mustard Cream Sauce, adapted from Six Sisters’ Stuff, Roasted Broccoli, adapted from The Amateur Gourmet, and Buffalo Cauliflower, adapted from The Curvy Carrot.

In attempts to create a healthier diet and maintain mouth-watering flavor, I modified the recipes like this:

To minimize the amount of dishes to wash later, I put both the cauliflower and broccoli onto a baking sheet I lined with aluminum foil and then sprayed with Pam. Because they were both on the same pan, I had to modify the oven temp. & time to 425F for 20 minutes.

Roasted Broccoli

  • 1 head of broccoli – chopped into small/medium piece
  • 2 teaspoons olive oil
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • salt & pepper, to taste

Put broccoli pieces in a small bowl. When they’re ready to go in the oven sprinkle the rest of the ingredients on top. Put a lid on the bowl, shake, and pour onto your baking sheet.

Buffalo Cauliflower

  • 1 head of cauliflower chopped into medium pieces
  • 1/2 cup plain yogurt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 Tbsp. Garlic powder
  • buffalo sauce, to taste

The recipe calls for heavy cream; instead I make my own by whisking the milk and yogurt together. Then add the garlic powder, buffalo sauce and flour to this mixture. Toss in the cauliflower – I took them out before they were completely covered in the sauce to minimize breading. Add them to baking sheet along with the broccoli, then set & forget. Remember to turn over veggies half way through bake time.

While the veggies are baking:

Chicken with Mustard Cream Sauce

  • 2 chicken breasts
  • 2 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/4 cup fat-free, low sodium chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup yogurt
  • 1/4 milk
  • 2 Tbsp. hot mustard
  • salt, pepper & oregano, to taste

Add oil to skillet and put on the stove at medium-high heat. Season chicken breasts with salt and pepper, add to skillet. While chicken is cooking prepare heavy cream by whisking milk and yogurt together. Cook chicken on both sides until golden brown, set aside. I sandwiched the chicken between two plates to keep warm. Add chicken broth to skillet while still hot; reduce heat to medium. Immediately whisk in heavy cream. Sprinkle oregano over sauce and reduce heat to a simmer. Simmer until veggies are finished baking.

Voila!

After thoughts: The broccoli turned out perfectly. I don’t think I’ll ever cook broccoli differently now. The cauliflower didn’t turn out as I expected. I forgot to flip them over while baking – I’m sure it would’ve turned out perfectly if I had. Also, the recipe called to mix the buffalo sauce with melted butter and pour over cauliflower once it has already baked, then put back in the oven for an additional 5-8 minutes. My recipe may have met my expectations had I followed these directions, but in my attempts to make healthy dishes I cut out the butter altogether. Next time: suck it up and use the butter. As for the chicken with mustard cream sauce – the sauce had a perfect consistency, however I added too much mustard in attempt to not be wasteful and use what little mustard remained in the bottom of the jar – bad move.

This entry was published on November 14, 2012 at 10:00 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

